Lena Bloch & Feathery

Feathery Quartet
“A World Without Fear”
Pronouns: she / her
Artistic Discipline: Music
Category: Brooklyn Arts Fund
Grant Year: 2024
Location: Williamsburg

“A World Without Fear” is a suite in 6 original compositions performed by the Feathery Quartet: Lena Bloch (tenor saxophone), Russ Lossing (piano), Cameron Brown (bass), Billy Mintz (drums). The compositions are linked together by the theme of longing for peace for humanity, for living on this planet without fear of the Other, of aggression, of war, of loss of the loved ones. A "war" not only as a conventional war with weapons - but also as a state of war within us, state of fear which feeds prejudice, suspicion and hostility. The composer and band leader Lena Bloch is a new American of Russian-Jewish-Ukrainian background. Having lived in Israel, Europe and North America, she aims at bringing together her Eastern and Western impressions and cultural influences in this work and attempts to create a string of poems in sound, reflecting on human compassion, courage, trust and brotherhood, where East and West embrace. Feathery Quartet's musical approach blurrs the lines between scored material and spontaneous invention, between written and improvised sections, resulting in dramatic, theatrical continuity.